Sunday, 26 June 2022

South Africa’s T20 Global League announces final team squads

LONDON, ENGLAND - JUNE 19: Faf du Plessis during the T20 Global League Launch at Bvlgari Hotel London on June 19, 2017 in London, England. (Photo by Patrik Lundin/Gallo Images)

CAPE TOWN: In a defining moment for South Africa`s inaugural edition of T20 Global League, the Main Player Draft was held in Cape Townon Sunday, with 32 international players and 96 local players picked by the various franchises.

With big names lining up to play and coach in the tournament, it was no surprise the cream of the cricketing world attended the event.

Each franchise had already been allocated both a big-name marquee Protea player and an international marquee player, but the remaining 16 squad spots were filled last evening.

With cricket fans across the world watching and waiting with anticipation, the Main Player Draft saw another 16 players picked per squad, over 16 rounds, with eight selected picks in each round.

Each franchise owner was asked to make their pick during the live event, with the first three players chosen being South African. Protea all-rounder Chris Morris was the very first pick by the Durban Qalandars, followed by Protea bowler Dane Paterson by Bloem City Blazers, and explosive Protea bowler Dale Steyn makes a return to the game for the Cape Town Knight Riders.

T20 Global League-main

Aiden Markram, 22, who went to the Nelson Mandela Bay Stars, was the first rookie to be picked, in round two. He was closely followed by fellow South Africans Wiaan Mulder, 19, selected by the Stellenbosch Monarchs, and Jason Smith, 22, picked by the Cape Town Knight Riders.

Akhona Mnyaka, an 18-year-old SA Schools player from Hudson Park in East London, became the youngest player in the draw when he was picked by the Bloemfontein City Blazers.

The resulting teams are a unique blend of both local youth and international experience which is sure to make for some very exciting cricket later this year.

The Draft order was predetermined by a weighted Player Matrix system and audited by EY. The players who are eligible for the main Draft are those who entered into a binding agreement to enter the Draft.

T20 Global League-1

Durban Qalandars – Local marquee – Hashim Amla

International marquee – Eoin Morgan

Other players – Fakhar Zaman, Qaasim Adams, Kelly Smuts, Marques Ackerman, Daryn Dupavillon, Chris Morris, Sam Billings, Mitchell McClenaghan, Bjorn Fortuin, Mohammad Hafeez, Migael Pretorius, Nicky van der Bergh, Prenelan Subrayen, Junior Dala, Mthokozisi Shezi , Cody Chetty

Nelson Mandela Bay Stars (Port Elizabeth) – Local marquee – Imran Tahir

Iinternational marquee – Kevin Pietersen

Other players – Andrew Birch, Colin Wihan Lubbe, Grant Thomson, Lesiba Ngoepe, Ryan Rickleton, JJ Smuts, Aiden Markram, Anwar Ali, Heinrich Klaasen, Ackermann, Shadley van Schalkwyk, Sibonelo Makhanya, Junaid Khan, Dawid Malan, Sisanga Magala, Heino Kuhn,

Stellenbosch Monarchs – Local marquee – Faf du Plessis

International marquee – Lasith Malinga

Other players – Alex Hales, Lizaad Williams, Jeevan Mendis, Tabraiz Shamsi, Wayne Parnell, Ryan McLaren, Brendan Taylor, Imad Wasim, Henry Davids, Mangaliso Mosehle, Willem Mulder, Justin Ontong, Rowan Richards , Craig Alexander, Grant Mokoena, Kyle Simmonds

Benoni Zalmi – Local marquee – Quinton de Kock

International marquee – Jason Roy

Other players – Dean Elgar, Mohammad Nawaz, Albie Morkel, Wahab Riaz, Dillon du Preez , George Linde, Rivaldo Moonsamy , Calvin Savage, Carmi le Roux , Tshepo Moreki, Umar Akmal, Lungi Ngidi, David Wiese, Eddie Leie, Pite van Biljon, Leus du Plooy

Bloem City Blazers – Local marquee – David Miller

International marquee – Kieron Pollard

Other players – Dane Paterson, Chris Jordan, , Shaun von Burg, Aaron Phangiso, Morne Van Wyk, Beuran Hendricks, Theunis de Bruyn , Dwayne Smith, Janneman Malan, Ryan ten Doeschate, Clyde Fortuin, Rayad Emrit, Werner Coetsee, Yaseen Vallie, Akhona Mnyaka, Keegan Petersen

Cape Town Knight Riders – Local marquee – JP Duminy

International marquee – Chris Gayle

Other players – Dale Steyn, Adil Rashid, Aviwe Mgijima, Rassie van der Dussen, James Vince, Dwaine Pretorius , Jason Smith, Rudi Second, Rory Kleinveldt, Tom Curran, Malusi Siboto, Denesh Ramdin, Thomas Kaber , Senuran Muthusamy, Dayyaan Galiem , Pieter Malan

Pretoria Mavericks – Local marquee – AB de Villiers

International marquee – Dwayne Bravo

Other players – Steven Finn, Morne Morkel, Reeza Hendricks, Diego Rosier,Khaya Zondo, Eldred Hawken, Basheer Walters, Stephan Myburgh, Tony de Zorzi, Kyle Nipper, Johan Botha, Vaughn van Jaarsveld, Farhaan Behardien, Dane Vilas, Robbie Frylinck, Keshav Maharaj


Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply