Thursday, 27 January 2022

Ravi Ashwin, Ishant Sharma out in blow for India

(Photo Credits: Getty Images)

PERTH: India could be set to unleash four quicks for the second Test against Australia in Perth after losing offspinner Ravichandran Ashwin to injury.

The tourists, whose victory in Adelaide handed them a 1-0 series lead, have announced a 13-man squad for the Test starting on Friday at Optus Stadium.

Ashwin has been ruled out with a left abdominal strain while Rohit Sharma has been sidelined after he jarred his back during the first Test.

Spin-bowling allrounder Hanuma Vihari is set to replace Rohit.

The inclusion of Umesh Yadav and Bhuneshwar Kumar suggests India could select four quicks on what’s set to be a fast and bouncy pitch.

India squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply