Sunday, 24 October 2021

Pakistan beat Kent by whopping 100 runs

BECKENHAM: Pakistan won their first match of the England tour against Kent by a whopping margin of 100 run as Kent collapsed for 258 runs only.

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first at Beckenham when the national cricket team piled up a humongous total of 358 runs for seven wickets against Kent county.

Pakistani batsmen showcased a carnival of elite batting as all-rounder Imad Wasim scored an unbeaten 117 runs off just 78 balls to steer the total to 358. He smacked 13 fours and four sixes in his brilliant knock.

Pakistan’s openers gave a consolidated start with an opening partnership of 92 runs between Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq.

Opener Fakhar Zaman scored a marvelous half-century scoring 76 runs off 58 balls including nine fours and a six.

Batsman Haris Sohail, who has been given a chance in this tour to prove his worth, also score 75 runs off 71 balls hitting six fours and a six.

Haris and Imad added 139 runs for the sixth wicket partnership.

However, Babar Azam, skipper Sarfrraz Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf and Shoaib Malik failed to score big as they tumbled down for 40 runs combined.

For Kent, 25-year-old left-arm spinner Imran Qayyum, bowled extremely well to capture four wickets for 45 runs in his ten over spell against Pakistan team.

In return, Kent struggled against Pakistan bowling by getting out for 258 runs only.

AJ Blake struck every ball out of the arc scoring 89 runs off just 48 balls with six fours and sixes each.

Pakistan toppled Kent top order when OG Robinson, scored 49 off 76, and AJ Blake managed to score 132 runs partnership until Hasan Ali made a breakthrough.

Replacement of Shadab Khan, Yasir Khan took 3 wickets for 90 runs in his 10 over quota while Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman and Hasan Ali bagged two wickets each alongside Imad Wasim taking only one wicket.

Pakistan marked their first win in style and are ready to face Northamptonshire on April 29.


Pakistan: Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Sarfaraz Ahmed (c), Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Yasir Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi

Kent: Z Crawley, SR Dickson, OG Robinson, AJ Blake, AP Rouse (c), JM Cox, JAR Harris, S Snater, Imran Qayyum, FJ Klaassen, AEN Riley.

Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply