Wednesday, 1 December 2021

Loss of Imad, Junaid, Shinwari major setback for Pakistan: Sarfraz


LAHORE: The loss of key players Imad Wasim, Junaid Khan and Usman Shinwari came as a major blow to Pakistan, said Pakistan cricket skipper Sarfraz Ahmed on Tuesday, ahead of the New Zealand series.

“Our three main bowlers Imad, Junaid and Shinwari got unfit, which has come as a major setback,” Sarfraz said, while addressing media at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

The skipper was, however, optimistic that the upcoming replacements, particularly Aamir Yamin, will perform well against the Kiwis. “Yamin was consistently performing at the domestic level and has been bowling well lately,” Sarfraz said.

He was of the view that the conditions at New Zealand are particularly not in favor of spinners, however, we would to assess the situation and came up with the needed bowling selection.

“We will try to select the best all-rounder as per the conditions,” said Sarfraz. The seniors, including fast bowler Muhammad Amir, would need to take additional burden, the skipper added.

“There is an additional responsibility on Amir and Hasan, alongside Rumman Raees, but I am hopeful that the two will carry the bowling line well in the coming tour,” he said.

Meanwhile, Pakistan is scheduled to play five ODIs and three T20Is between January 6 and January 28.


Pakistan-New Zealand Series 2018 Schedule;

ODI Series   Date                           Venue                                               Time

1st ODI          January 6                 Basin Reserve, Wellington            03:00 am (PST)

2nd ODI        January 9                  Saxton Oval, Nelson                    03:00 am (PST)

3rd ODI         January 13               University Oval, Dunedin              03:00 am (PST)

4th ODI         January 16               Seddon Park, Hamilton                 06:00 am (PST)

5th ODI         January 19               Basin Reserve, Wellington             03:00 am (PST)

T20 Series    Date                           Venue                                               Time

1st T20I         January 22               Westpac Stadium, Wellington       08:00 am (PST)

2nd T20I       January 25                Eden Park, Auckland                   11:00 am (PST)

3rd T20I        January 28               Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui         11:00 am (PST)

Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply