Sunday, 17 October 2021

Javeria makes it to ICC Women World T20 2018 dream team

Javeria Khan @ Twitter

LAHORE  –   Pakistan women cricketer Javeria Khan has made it to the star-studded ICC Women’s World T20 2018 dream team, which was selected by an esteemed selection panel that included three former international players.

Thrust into the captaincy role just before the tournament, Javeria responded well as she topped the run-scorers’ chart for her team, and was outstanding especially against Ireland, when she slammed a 52-ball 74, a Pakistani record in T20Is. She followed that up with 36 in 23 balls against New Zealand.

According to ICC press release issued here, the ICC announced the team of the tournament of the ICC Women’s World T20 2018 based on performances during the 16-day tournament held across three venues in the West Indies. Three players each from England and India, two from Australia and one each from Pakistan, New Zealand and the West Indies have been named in the eleven.


India captain Harmanpreet Kaur, one of two captains to make the squad along with Pakistan’s Javeria Khan, has been named to lead the team, with player of the tournament Alyssa Healy of Australia, India’s left-handed opener Smriti Mandhana and England’s Amy Jones nominated to bat ahead of her.

All-rounders Deandra Dottin of the Windies and Allyse Perry of Australia, and England fast bowler Anya Shrubsole are the seam bowlers in the squad with off-spinner Leigh Kasperek of New Zealand, leg-spinner Poonam Yadav of India and left-arm spinner Kirstie Gordon of England the slow bowlers. Bangladesh’s new-ball bowler Jahanara Alam has been named as the 12th player. The selection panel comprised former players and commentators Ian Bishop, Anjum Chopra and Ebony Rainford-Brent, journalist Melinda Farrell and ICC’s General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice.


ICC WOMEN’S WORLD T20 2018: Alyssa Healy (Aus), Smriti Mandhana (Ind), Amy Jones (Eng, wk), Harmanpreet Kaur (Ind, capt), Deandra Dottin (WI), Javeria Khan (Pak), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Leigh Kasperek (NZ), Anya Shrubsole (Eng), Kirstie Gordon (Eng), Poonam Yadav (Ind), Jahanara Alam (BD, 12th player).

Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply