Sunday, 26 June 2022

India eases past Bangladesh, sets up fiery final against Pakistan

kohli india

LONDON: India have secured their place in the Champions Trophy final against Pakistan after comfortably defeating Bangladesh. India chased the target with ease, making 265 runs in 40.1 overs with nine wickets in hand.

Opening India’s batting account, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan gave India a strong start with an 87 run partnership. Dhawan, just four runs shy of his half-century, got out off a slower delivery by Mashrafe in the 15th over. He was caught out at mid-off by Mosaddek.

Skipper Virat Kohli joined Sharma as they led the charge against Bangladesh. Sharma reached his 11th ODI century in the 33rd over, while Kohli scored 96 runs, crossing 8,000 ODI runs and becoming the fastest player to do so in the format.

Sharma was declared man of the match with his 123 runs off of 129 balls. Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman are now leading the bowling charge for Bangladesh as Virat Kohli joins Sharma at the crease.

Bangladesh innings

Bangladesh played their 50 overs with three wickets in hand, finishing with 264 runs on the scoreboard. After losing two quick wickets at the start, Bangladesh sprung back up with a couple of solid partnerships, taking the total to 264. Tamim Iqabal scored 70 runs while Mushfiqur Rahman got 61.

From India, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaspreet Bumrah and Kedhar Jadhav each got two wickets and Ravindra Jadeja picked up one. Although the odds for today’s contest are heavily in India’s favour, the last four games between India and Bangladesh have seen both teams win two matches each.

Champions Trophy title-holders India thrashed Bangladesh by 240 runs in a warm-up match at the Oval last month, a fixture where the Tigers collapsed to 84 all out. The winners of this match will play Pakistan, who hammered England by eight wickets in Wednesday’s first semi-final in Cardiff, in Sunday’s final at the Oval in London.

India launched their title defence by thrashing arch-rivals Pakistan by 124 runs at Edgbaston on June 4. Both India and Bangladesh retained the sides that defeated South Africa and New Zealand respectively in the final round of the group stage.


Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim (wkt), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (capt), Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wkt), Hardik Pandya, Kedhar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jaspreet Bumrah

Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply