Tuesday, 7 December 2021

ICC World Cup 2019 Full Schedule


(File Photo)

LONDON: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday confirmed the schedule of the Cricket World Cup 2019, which will be held in England and Wales from May 30 to July 14.

Hosts England and South Africa will play the tournament opener at The Oval, London on May 30, 2019.

Reigning Champions Trophy winners Pakistan will start their World Cup campaign against West Indies on May 31, 2019 at Trent Bridge, Nottingham.

June 16, 2019 will be the date to remember: Pakistan and India, two years after clashing in the Champions Trophy final at The Oval, will meet at Old Trafford, Manchester in the mega clash of the tournament.

Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka all confirmed their place at quadrennial tournament thanks to their ICC ODI rankings on the cut-off date of 30 September 2017.

They were joined by the West Indies and Afghanistan, who booked their spot for the mega event through the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier in March. Hosts England will take on South Africa in the tournament opener at The Oval, while India, the 1983 and 2011 world champions who also won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013 in England and Wales, will play their first match against the Proteas on June 5.

Eleven world-class venues will be used in the 46-day tournament in which each side will play the other once in a single-league format with the top four sides after 45 matches progressing to the semi-finals.

Old Trafford in Manchester will host maximum six matches, while Edgbaston in Birmingham, Hampshire Bowl in Southampton, Lord’s and The Oval (both in London), and Trent Bridge in Nottingham will stage five matches each. Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff and Headingley in Leeds have been allocated four matches each and County Ground Bristol in Bristol, County Ground Taunton in Taunton and The Riverside in Chester-le-Street have got three matches each.

“It’s always an exciting moment ahead of any major event to announce the schedule and for the ICC Cricket World Cup. Next summer fans around the world will be treated to compelling and competitive cricket as the best teams in the world go head to head in this round robin format for the right to be crowned World Champions”, said ICC Chief Executive David Richardson.

“This schedule also gives fans across England and Wales the opportunity to watch world-class cricket on their doorstep with all teams moving around the country. We know from previous ICC events that every country will be proudly supported at each of the venues creating an exceptional atmosphere and a real celebration of the game.”

cricket world cup 2019

Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply