Wednesday, 8 December 2021

England, India clinch wins in Women’s World Cup

eng womens cric

LONDON: Hosts England and India emerged victorious in their respective ICC Women’s World Cup fixtures on Wednesday. England defeated South Africa by 68 runs at Bristol.

Batting first, England scored a massive total of 373 runs thanks to centuries by Tammy Beaumont and Sarah Taylor. Beaumont scored 148 runs from 145 balls with the help of 22 boundaries and a six while Sarah Taylor contributed 147 runs from 104 deliveries which included 24 fours.

Marizanne Kapp took three wickets for the Proteas while Shabnim Ismail and Moseline Daniel grabbed a wicket each. South Africa could only manage 305/9 in their run chase.

Lizelle Lee was the top scorer with 72 runs from 77 balls with seven fours and two sixes to her name while Laura Wolvaardt scored 67 runs from 103 balls which included nine boundaries. Chloe Tryon made 54 runs from 26 balls with the help of five fours and four sixes.

Danielle Hazell grabbed three wickets for England and Heather Knight grabbed two wickets. Natalie Sciver, Alex Hartley and Anya Shrubsole took a wicket each as well.

Sarah Taylor was named Player of the match. India defeated Sri Lanka by 16 runs at Bristol. India, batting first, made 232/8 in their allotted 50 overs thanks to half centuries by Deepti Sharma and Captain Mithali Raj.

Sharma was the top scorer as she made 78 runs froom 110 balls with the help of 10 boundaries while Mithali Raj scored 53 runs from 78 balls which included four boundaries.

Sripali Weerakkody took three wickets for Sri Lanka while Inoka Ranaweera grabbed two wickets. Chandima Gunaratne and Ama Kanchana took a wicket each.

Sri Lanka fell 16 runs short from the target as they scored 216/7 in their given 50 overs. Dilani Manodara scored 61 runs from 75 balls which included six boundaries while Nipuni Hansika made 29 runs from 66 balls with the help of three fours.

Chamari Atapattu and Prasadani Weerakkody made 25 and 21 runs respectively for their side.

India’s Jhulan Goswami and Poonam Yadav dismissed two Sri Lankan batswomen each while Ekta Bisht and Deepti Sharma also grabbed a wicket. Deepti Sharma was named Player of the match.

Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply