Saturday, 10 April 2021

England bowl against Bangladesh in Champions Trophy


LONDON: England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and elected to field against Bangladesh in the opening match of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy one-day international tournament at the Oval on Thursday (Today). England dropped leg-spinner Adil Rashid from their side, with his place effectively taken by Nottinghamshire paceman Jake Ball.

All-rounders Ben Stokes (knee) and Chris Woakes (thigh) were both passed fit after missing England´s seven-wicket ODI defeat by South Africa at Lord´s on Monday. Stokes was initially cleared to be a member of England´s attack after struggling to bowl in recent matches.

“It went all right, I bowled 10 deliveries off a full run this (Thursday) morning,” Stokes told media. “There´s no pain there but it doesn´t mean that I won´t feel no pain. It´s a starting point and it gives me confidence. “Ideally I´d like to get through 10 overs but we´ll see,” the right-arm seamer added.

eng bang

Although a sunny day and a good pitch promised plenty of runs, Morgan´s decision to field first may have been influenced by the fact that Bangladesh were bowled out for just 84 by defending champions India in a warm-up match at the Oval on Tuesday. Bangladesh knocked England out of the 2015 World Cup with a 15-run win at Adelaide and both sides featured several survivors from that match.


England: Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wkt), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett, Mark Wood, Jake Ball

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim (wkt), Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman

Check Also

England cricketers slam Bangladeshi author distasteful tweet on Moeen Ali

PHOTO: Reuters England cricketers Saqib Mahmood, Jofra Archer and Sam Billings have lashed out at ...

Leave a Reply