Wednesday, 8 December 2021

England announce squad for Women’s Ashes Test

Getty Images / ICC

LONDON-ICC: England have announced a 13-member squad for the upcoming four-day Women’s Ashes Test, set to begin on 18 July, at Taunton.

Led by Heather Knight, the squad includes 21-year-old spinner Kirstie Gordon. The left-arm spinner, who debuted for England in the 2018 World T20, took eight wickets in England Academy’s 240-run loss to Australia last week at Marlborough.

Fran Wilson and Alex Hartley, both part of the ODI squad, will stay with the Test team as cover.

Jenny Gunn and Danni Wyatt, who were also part of England’s ODI setup, are set to stay with the England Women’s Academy. Their next assignment will be the T20s against Australia A and Ireland.

England currently trail the multi-format Ashes by six points, having lost the ODI leg 3-0. They need to win the solitary Test, worth four points, to stay alive in the series. A loss, or even a draw in the Taunton Test, would mean Australia retain the Ashes.

Squad: Heather Knight (captain), Sarah Taylor (wk), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone, Georgia Elwiss, Kirstie Gordon, Amy Jones, Laura Marsh, Nat Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Lauren Winfield

Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply