Wednesday, 20 October 2021

CSA names squads for Windies, Ireland tours

Photo: Twitter

CAPE TOWN – Cricket South Africa officially announced that discussions with AB de Villiers have concluded, putting an end to speculation of the star batsman coming out of retirement.

De Villiers’ name was missing from the three squads that CSA announced for their West Indies and Ireland tours. The 19-member Test squad for the West Indies tour will see Dean Elgar lead the Proteas for the first time since his permanent appointment as Test captain in March 2021. Off-spinner Prenelan Subrayen has received maiden call-up for the national Test side after an eye-catching domestic season in which he finished with 19 wickets in four matches.

Sisanda Magala and Lizaad Williams have retained their spots in the national side for both limited-overs matches against West Indies and Ireland. Other uncapped selections include Kyle Verreynne, Keegan Petersen, Sarel Erwee and Marco Jansen. “The historic tour to Ireland is crucial for points towards our qualification for the 2023 Cricket World Cup and preparation for the T20 World Cup later this year. This is the start of our road to these trophies and every tour will see us field our absolute best sides,” Cricket South Africa Convenor of Selectors, Victor Mpitsang said.

“The team has been in a rebuilding phase for a while now but we are satisfied that the return on investment is going to show itself sooner rather than later. “We have to trust the process that has been put in place and support our team while they find themselves and their way. These are truly exciting times in South African cricket, with an exciting new leadership group that is determined to return the team back to its winning ways.

TEST SQUAD: Dean Elgar (c), Temba Bavuma (vc), Quinton de Kock, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Peterson , Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lizaad Williams , Prenelan Subrayen, Marco Jansen. 

T20 SQUAD: Temba Bavuma (c), Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Sisanda Magala, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams. 

Check Also

Atif Aslam wants to perform with Arijit Singh

Pakistani singer Atif Aslam, who is currently in the northern areas for the shooting of ...

Leave a Reply