Sunday, 26 June 2022

CPL: Shadab stars as Knight Riders win second straight game

Shadab Khan

Shadab Khan’s composed 30 not out guided the Trinbago Knight Riders to a four-wicket win over the St Lucia Stars in a tense battle on Monday night at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port-of-Spain.

The Knight Riders bowling unit restricted the St Lucia Stars to 118/9 with Kevon Cooper (3/21) and Dwayne Bravo (2/33) taking the bulk of the wickets.

With only 119 to chase, the Knight Riders were in deep trouble at 52/5 as they lost four wickets to Shane Shillingford’s off-breaks.

However, Khan’s eminently sensible 30 not out off 33 balls gave the Knight Riders their second victory in four days over the Stars.

Dwayne Bravo inserted the Stars after winning the toss and the move paid early dividends when Khary Pierre trapped Johnson Charles (5) LBW. TV replays showed the batsman edged the ball first.

Andre Fletcher (40) scored fluently but only Kamran Akmal (17) got into the double-figures in the Stars top five

Darren Sammy (25) provided some late impetus but Khan and Narine did the damage, combining for 2/31 in eight overs.

Shadab Khan

Cooper and Bravo took five wickets between them as the batsmen swung fruitlessly for the fences late in the innings.

Colin Munro and Brendon McCullum decimated the Stars on Friday but at the Queen’s Park Oval, it was a different story after Shane Shillingford was introduced to bowl the third over.

The off-spinner, a substitute for the opening game, took four wickets in 10 balls to reduce the Knight Riders to 52/5 in the 7th over.

Mitchell McClenaghan the sent Dwayne Bravo’s middle stump cartwheeling at 75/6 before Khan and Javon Searles fashioned a match-winning partnership of 45 to clinch victory.

The Barbadian ended on 27 off 20 balls in the Knight Riders victory.

Summarized scores: St Lucia Stars 118/9 (Fletcher 40; Cooper 3/21, Bravo 2/33, Pierre 1/15) vs Trinbago Knight Riders 120/6 (Khan 30 not out; Shillingford 4/22). Knight Riders win by four wickets

Trinbago Knight Riders: Dwayne Bravo (captain), Brendon McCullum, Sunil Narine, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Colin Munro, Shadab Khan, Khary Pierre, Ronsford Beaton, Javon Searles, Kevon Cooper

St Lucia Stars: Darren Sammy (captain), Andre Fletcher, Johnson Charles, Marlon Samuels, Kamran Akmal, Jesse Ryder, Kyle Mayers, Jerome Taylor, Mitchell McClenaghan, Eddie Leie, Shane Shillingford


Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply