Wednesday, 1 December 2021

Boom Boom Afridi stars as Dhaka waltz into the BPL final


DHAKA Dynamites, banking on pure power hitting and a sensational trio of spin bowlers, reached the 2017 BPL final with a 95-run win over Comilla Victorians in the first qualifier in Mirpur.

Evin Lewis gave them the perfect start with the bat, top scoring with 47 before Kieron Pollard and Shahid Afridi powered them to 191 for 7 in 20 overs. Comilla’s bowlers suffered greatly, except for Hasan Ali who took 3 for 16.

Comilla’s hopes of chasing their target were extinguished quickly – they were six down inside 10 overs – and were eventually bowled out for 96. Afridi, Shakib Al Hasan and Sunil Narine presented combined figures of 10-2-44-6.

Dhaka now await the winner of Sunday’s second qualifier between Comilla and Rangpur Riders.

Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply