Saturday, 4 December 2021

Big Bash: Sydney Sixers thrash Brisbane Heat by nine wickets


SYDNEY: Sydney Sixers romped Brisbane Heat by nine wickets in the 32nd match of the Big Bash League 2017-18 at Sydney on Thursday.

Brisbane Heat, being sent to bat first, were bowled out for 73 runs in 16.4 overs as Alex Ross made 15 runs while Jimmy Peirson and Josh Lalor scored 14 runs each. Sam Heazlett contributed 10 runs with the bat.

Sean Abbott was the pick of the bowlers as he picked up four wickets while Carlos Brathwaite and Nathan Lyon got two wickets each. Ben Dwarshuis and Johan Botha got a wicket in the match each as well.

Sydney Sixers, chasing 74 runs to win, reached the target in 10 overs.

Daniel Hughes made 37 runs from 28 balls which included four boundaries and a six while Joe Denly and Nic Maddinson scored 19 and 17 runs for the team.

Yasir Shah grabbed one wicket for Brisbane.

Sean Abbott was named Player of the match for his performance with the ball.

Sydney Sixers (Playing XI): Joe Denly, Daniel Hughes, Nic Maddinson, Moises Henriques, Jordan Silk, Carlos Brathwaite, Johan Botha(c), Peter Nevill(w), Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis and Nathan Lyon.

Brisbane Heat (Playing XI): Brendon McCullum(c), Sam Heazlett, Marnus Labuschagne, Alex Ross, Ben Cutting, Jimmy Peirson(w), Jason Floros, Josh Lalor, Mark Steketee, Yasir Shah and Mitchell Swepson.

Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...

Leave a Reply