Tuesday, 30 November 2021

Australia win toss, choose to bat first against Pakistan

Misbah-ul-Haq and Steven Smith are all smiles with the series trophy, Brisbane, December 14, 2016

BRISBANE: Australia have won the toss and decided to bat in the first Test against Pakistan in Brisbane on Thursday, Dunya News reported. Pakistan made two changes in the side that lost the second Test against New Zealand in Hamilton last month with captain Misbah-ul-Haq and leg-spinner Yasir Shah returning. The match is extremely important for both teams as both of them are coming out of defeats from their recent series. Earlier, South Africa had beaten Australia 2-1 in the Test series and Pakistan suffered defeat at the hands of New Zealand by two Test matches to nil. Talking about previous record of both countries, Australia have an edge over Pakistan. Pakistan have never won a Test series against Australia on their home soil. In fact, Pakistan had been whitewashed by the Aussies in last three Test series that were played in Australia. The good news from Pakistan’s perspective is that Yasir Shah, who was suffering from a back injury, has been declared fit to play for the match. Pakistan XI: 1 Sami Aslam, 2 Azhar Ali, 3 Babar Azam, 4 Younis Khan, 5 Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), 6 Asad Shafiq, 7 Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), 8 Wahab Riaz, 9 Yasir Shah, 10 Mohammad Amir, 11 Rahat Ali. Australia XI: 1 Matt Renshaw, 2 David Warner, 3 Usman Khawaja, 4 Steven Smith (capt), 5 Peter Handscomb, 6 Nic Maddinson, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Mitchell Starc, 9 Josh Hazlewood, 10 Nathan Lyon, 11 Jackson Bird.

Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG) and Richard Illingworth (ENG).

Third umpire: Sundaram Ravi (IND).

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI).

Check Also

PSL6 – Mul crushed table-toppers Isl to qualify for final

ABU DHABI – Multan Sultans crushed table-toppers Islamabad United by 31 runs to qualify for ...